Politicians, government officials etc.



Politics and Government Research Notes



 Handbook of Texas Online: LIGHTFOOT, JEWEL PRESTON(1873-1950).  While working as a night railroad telegrapher, he studied law. After admission to the state bar, he was elected Camp County attorney in 1898; he served for three terms.. 

Handbook of Texas Online: DAVIS, LEWIS GARDNER   He farmed on his homestead, and after Camp County was organized from Upshur, he was elected county commissioner for Precinct No. 1 in 1878. 

Handbook of Texas Online: CAMP, JOHN LAFAYETTE  

Handbook of Texas Online: CRAWFORD, WILLIAM CARROL (1804-1895). William Carrol Crawford, the last surviving signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence.



 April 6th, 1874 Appointed Commissioners

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Texas, That a new county, to be called Camp county, is hereby established 
 Sec. 2. That James F. Newson, Ebb Bolton, J. G. Credelle, J. R. Strickland, W. J. Singleterry, W. K. Heath and Dr. J. E. Harrison are hereby appointed commissioners, with full powers to organize said county


 County Officials 1874
Zack Bailey - Sheriff
William Covington - Clerk
John C Porter - Surveyor
S.P. Aldridge- Treasurer 
W.R. Barnes   Justices of the Peace   Precinct 1 `  
G.W. Maynor   Justices of the Peace   Precinct  2  
H.P. Thedford   Justices of the Peace   Precinct  3  
S.C. Callicoatte   Justices of the Peace   Precinct  4  
G.W. Keeling   Justices of the Peace   Precinct  5  


 County Officials 1876-77
WP Skeen  County Judge
AS Huey  County Clerk
WJ Covington  District Clerk
RW Hudson  County Attorney
Zachariah Bailey  Sheriff
Louis Condiet  Assessor of Taxes
SP Aldridge  County Treasurer
Douglas Puckett  County Surveyor
William Wagner  Inspector of Cattle and Hides


 Lewis Gardner Davis County commissioner for Precinct No. 1


 County Officials 1880
A S Huey   County 
J F Bohannan   Dist Clerk 
W H Edwards  Sheriff
J D Stafford    Dept. Sheriff
W C Crawford   Post Master 


 County Officials 1884


 County Officials 1889


 August 21, 1891

 On August 21, 1891, an election resulted in favor of incorporation, 110 to 74, and E. A. King was elected the first mayor." 



Jewel Preston Lightfoot elected Camp County attorney in 1898; he served for three terms.. 



 County Officials 1912