Wiley College
Historically Black College


 Two men standing in snow.

Wiley College Historical Marker Text

Established March 17, 1873; chartered 1882) Founded by Freedmen's Aid Society of the Methodist Church (North) as a co-educational institution dedicated to the education of black men and women freed by the Civil war. Named for Bishop Isaac W. Wiley (1825-84), black religious leader. Original campus was 2 miles south, relocated here in 1878. In early years offered courses only in academic preparation and vocational fields; first college-level course offered, 1885; first graduate, Henry b. Pemberton, 1888. In 1893 Wiley College received its first black president, the Rev. Isaiah Scott, former slave preacher. During the first half of the 20th century, under the administration of Dr. Matthew W. Dogan, the school experienced an era of growth and maturity; rated "A" by the Association of Negro Colleges in 1924. In his 46 years as president, dr. dogan initiated a combined technical and academic program, offering the students scholastic experience and practical training. Known as the "Wiley method," it was widely copied among black colleges. Wiley College Presidents: F. C. Moore (1873-76); W. J. Davis (1876-85); N. D. Clifford (1885-87); George Whitaker (1887-91); P. a. Pool (1891-93); Isaiah Scott (1893-96); M. w. Dogan (1896-1942); E. C. McLeod (1942-47); J. S. ...


  Image: The Portal to Texas History